The Ancient Library of Alexandria… for Developers


Safari Books Logo

I’ve always loved reading. Back in the days, it would be something ranging from historical novels, to fantasy/sci-fi books, with some old classics or maybe even a desperate romantic yet dramatic tale in between. Nowadays, I find infinite pleasure in reading technical software-developing-oriented books, and of course, when I found out that with my IEEE Computer Science membership I had access to a limited version of Safari Books Online, I couldn’t let it escape.

Well, this special subscription for CS members offered unlimited access to 600 of the most popular books Safari Online Books provides. And I enjoyed so much, that after a month I decided to get a full subscription. So now I have access to more than 10,000 books on any software-development topic that you can imagine:

  • Java Development
  • Apple Development
  • Adobe Development
  • Web Development
  • Microsoft Development
  • Project Management
  • Windows Server Administration
  • Network Administration
  • Security
  • Digital Media

which are updated in a regular basis, and yet more: Safari provides access to new books that haven’t even been published and are in a final-draft status.

On the other hand however, the subscription price can be a little bit expensive, and depending on which format you select, or if you have a discount or not, it can be really prohibitive. Another downhill of the system is that you cannot download directly the books you are reading: Safari provides a special token system which works as a currency to purchase downloads of books and book chapters, which you can either buy or receive free of charge from Safari.

Still, If you are a intensive reader like I am, it is definitely worthy. I’m reading right now 500 euros worth of books, so that really makes up for the 35 monthly/euros. Anyhow, you don’t lose anything for trying it out.

More Information and Features

~ by Jaime on September 18, 2010.

2 Responses to “The Ancient Library of Alexandria… for Developers”

  1. […] weeks ago I wrote a little bit about a great source of written software development knowledge: Safari Books Online. Today, I am going to introduce another great source of coding knowledge which targets teaching […]

  2. […] weeks ago I wrote a little bit about a great source of written software development knowledge: Safari Books Online. Today, I am going to introduce another great source of coding knowledge which targets teaching […]

Leave a Reply

 
